The Big Idea

I got the idea for doing this blog a little while ago but, inevitably, it took me a while to get round to doing anything about it.

When it comes to tabletop gaming (be it RPGs or miniatures games), I always get inspired by what other people are doing.  Whether it is flicking through magazines or browsing web sites, seeing other peoples’ armies or hearing about the great campaigns they have been running always seems to get me fired up.  So, wanting to put something back into the hobby, so to speak, this will be a place where I can chat about my own forays into the hobby.

I often call myself a ‘lazy’ gamer.  For RPGs, this generally means that I don’t have the time to create my own world from scratch, or even my own campaigns – most are based around commercial adventures that I string together with my own overall story line.  When it comes to miniatures games, I have to raise my hand and admit I am not the world’s best painter, and nor do I strive to improve, frankly.  I paint because I want to, because it is relaxing after a day’s/week’s work.  The aim is to get ‘decent’ results without getting bogged down in any single project – after all, there is a lot of gaming to be done out there!

Anyway, expect to hear about our current Star Wars and D&D 3.5 Forgoten Realms campaigns in our roleplaying group.  For miniatures, my ‘current’ (meaning very off and on) armies are Ogre Kingdoms, 28mm British Peninsular War, Uruk-Hai (War of the Ring), Tyranids, Dark Angels, 15mm WWII Soviet, 28mm Early Imperial Roman, Orks and 28mm Ancient Britons.

2 Responses to “The Big Idea”

  1. Review: Battletome – Everchosen | A Tabletop Gamer's Diary Says:

    […] about seeing pictures of big armies and games being played – that was, after all, kinda the whole point of me starting this blog in the first […]

  2. Review: Battletome – Everchosen | A Tabletop Gamer's Diary Says:

    […] about seeing pictures of big armies and games being played – that was, after all, kinda the whole point of me starting this blog in the first […]


Leave a Reply

