Back – With Greeks!

Okay, apologies first – I have been away a long, long time.

The official excuse is that my camera had a serious failing, and it has taken me this long to get a half decent replacement. I am still playing with all the settings, so expect some experiments with filters and the like (I am really not a photographer by any stretch!). However, it works, it is easy, so expect lots of updates!

Between now and the last post, I have been doing a lot of tabletop gaming – lots of new armies have been built, and I am currently running two RPG campaigns every week. I will update you all on all of this over the next while, with lots of campaign descriptions and lots of photos of painted miniatures.

For now, however…

I am currently working on a new game, a skirmish/campaign system covering Ancients, the Greek City States to Republican Rome. So, that means I have been painting lots of Greeks up recently!

I kicked off with some Athenian Hoplites. Since Games Workshop changed all their paints around, I have been looking for alternatives and have settled on Coat D’Arms for now – they have the advantage of being GW’s exact paints from the original range (exactly the same – they were made in the same factory). So, my paint collection is currently a blend of older GW and these Coat D’Arms pots. I did lash out for GW’s Averland Sunset – just could not resista  yellow that paints straight onto black, but I digress.

These Athenian Hoplites will form the core of any warband from Athens. Heavily armoured with spears, there is not much not to like.

Athens

Here they are, led by a Hero (haven’t got hold of the shield transfers yet, but they are coming), waiting for the Spartans to arrive from the sea. Speaking of which…

Sparta

The Spartans have cunningly bypassed the Athenian welcome party and are trotting along the a coastal path. Incidentally, the ‘aprons’ hanging from the shield of the last Spartan, and most of the Athenians, were designed to catch and deflect arrows and sling bullets – a simple idea that seems to have worked well.

Slingers

Either city state will be backed up by auxiliary forces, such as these slingers. If they were part of an Athenian forces, they would be lower class citizens who could not afford much more than a sling. If they were with the Spartans, they would be Helots, state-owned slaves who did not enjoy a happy life…

Another thing I have discovered in my research. If modern games tend to give short shrift to the humble spear, they positively spurn the sling. These things could easily out range bows of their time and, in the right hands, could be devilishly accurate. You have to remember, they were among the earliest of invented weapons (spear has been around longer) and lasted all the way through to medieval times. In the end, the sling died out for the same reasons as the longbow – you needed to train with it since childhood for best effect and other weapons (crossbows, then guns) were just easier for the rabble to use.

You can be sure slings will be awesome in the game I am working on!

All these models come from Victrix, and are superb value – you get around 50-odd miniatures in one of their box sets for little more than £20, and you really cannot fault the quality on any level.

I need to bulk out both the Athenian and Spartan forces, and then I’ll be on to Thebes and various mercenary forces. Then, it will be back on to Rome.

I’ll be updating this blog as things happen, but expect a few regular posts over the next month or so as I go back through all the armies I have painted since my last salvo of posts!

 

Leave a Reply

