Boom!

I mentioned in the last post that I had not been happy with the mix of Magic Goop I had created last weekend and thought it a bit weak, and so the shading it created was too light. Well, I mixed up a new batch last night, and it did just the trick – these are the Dwarf Cannon I painted up over the weekend, now with a fresh coating of the Magic Goop.

IMG_0465

I haven’t yet worked out what Rune sickness is going onto to these (so much to choose from!), but I now need only two Organ Guns and then my Dwarfs have a good 2,000 points to take to the field with.

I also re-Gooped the Grot Mega-Tank – if you take a look at the last post, you will see it now has a lot more definition (the whole point of the Goop, really).

IMG_0466

 

For any non-regulars here, I should perhaps explain…

 

The Magic Goop

This is not my idea at all, but a variation on the Dipping Method you can find on the Internet (and, frankly, the guy who came up with this should be working on the Space Programme or something…). This is how I do it.

Get yourself some water-based wood varnish. In the past I have used Ronseal Quick-Dry Satin Walnut Wood Varnish (a mouthful), but I switched to Homebase’s own earlier this year as it was about half the price – a mistake, as the Ronseal is a better mix, though the difference is largely marginal.

Anyway, get yourself a jam jar and fill it up to just under 3/4 with the wood varnish. Top it up with water and mix well. This mix is what I call the Magic Goop on these pages.

Why is it magic?

Well, paint your models as normal, but only do the base colours – no shading or highlights. Then, when dry, get a big brush and douse the model in the Magic Goop, head to foot.

The model will be instantly shaded. This method means you can paint models very quickly (a blessing for Tyranids or Orcs!) and you will either speed up your painting drastically or (if you are not too good like me) make your models look better. If you are really lucky, it will do both!

Once you have had a bit of experience with the Magic Goop, you can start doing ‘part-Gooped’ models, as I do with my Dark Angels (only the weapons, chest eagles and purity seals are Gooped) and High Elves (everything gets Gooped, and then the pink and black goes on top afterwards).

There are some things even the Magic Goop has issues with – blue does not react all that well to it, and you will notice that there is a distinct lack of blue models on these pages! However, the flip side is that it does yellow brilliantly, traditionally a colour that is not always easy to shade and highlight. It also gives models a ‘dirty’ look, as though they have been wading through the Somme, but that often works out very well for wargaming models! If you are after a clean look (High Elves, Tau and some marines, for example), then you can part-Goop.

Unless you are a stunning painter (in which case you may not go near this method with a barge pole!), I would recommend everyone to try it. It is very cheap (a pot of wood varnish will last you a year, even if you are painting every weekend), and will either make your models look better or speed your painting up – or both!

 

 

Leave a Reply

