Stormcast Eternals

This weekend, amidst the Attack show at Devizes, I managed to finish off the Stormcast Eternals from the Age of Sigmar starter set.

I did something a little different with these guys. Instead of using the by-now-usual Magic Goop method, I grabbed a recent White Dwarf and followed the step-by-step instructions they had published for the Hallowed Knights (I wanted to do something different from the gold Stormcasts that are in all the GW books). Not sure why, but it seemed a good idea at the time. This entailed going to the GW site and ordering a whole bunch of new paints.

Were the results worth it? Well, you can be the judge of that. I remain the world’s laziest painter, but I don’t think the models are too bad at all. I will say that, despite by initial annoyance at GW changing their entire paint range (and pigments, so there is no exact replacement for Bestial Brown, for example), these new paints are very, very, very good. They may even be worth the price. They dry very quickly, have every shade you could possibly want (for example, you do not just get a black wash, there are now two different black washes, one heavy, one light – both got used on these Stormcasts), and the base paints will go straight onto a black undercoat with no loss of brightness. GW certainly did their homework here.

Anyway, onto the models!

IMG_1340

This is the leader, the Lord Celestant Vandus Hammerhand, the Marneus Calgar of the Stormcast Eternals. As I mentioned in an earlier post, the Dracoth was a bit of a bitch to put together (your mileage may vary, but I was all fingers and thumbs with this model), but the end result was worth it, I think. The model certainly has ‘presence’on the table.

IMG_1342

He gets accompanied by this guy, the Lord-Relictor. I had thought these two models would really slow up the painting of the Stormcasts (I did them all in one batch) but in the end, it was not too bad. The scrollwork is a little less browny than in GW’s pictures, but I think it works with the straight silver of the armour.

Incidentally, the White Dwarf guide says you should use the gun metal colour for the base on the the armour, but I am 90% sure they actually mean Runefang Steel, which is what I used. It is a lot lighter.

IMG_1343

The Retributors are the heavy guys of the group and while they are somewhat more ornate than the basic troops, they did not really take any longer to paint (no shield, and there are only three of them).

IMG_1341

The Prosecutors really push the ‘angel’ angle of the Stormcast Eternals. I had started to do the wings with black shading between the vanes but in the end just went over the whole surface with white – I don’t have the patience or the talent to pull that shading off. However, I think it works well enough, given that the wings in the paintings of these guys really are shining white.

IMG_1344

Finally, the Liberators, the ‘normal’ foot troops of the Stormcast Eternals.

IMG_1345

There are two squads of these. The squad members are fairly uniform and I got through them quite quickly. The leaders, on the other hand, have just the right amount of detail to stand out while not being a drag to do (important for lazy painters when it comes to block units!).

IMG_1339

And finally, the whole force all together. I think they fit in rather well with one another, and I have already picked up a box of the new Liberators that give you various weapon options – not sure which of those options I want to do. As normal, I want all of them!

However, the next job is doing the Chaos force, which I am hoping to complete this coming weekend-ish. After that, I’ll get some battle reports sorted for the missions in the starter set and then we will really see what is what!

2 Responses to “Stormcast Eternals”

  1. Stewart Burnett Says:

    Nice job. The pic with all of them really popped. They go well together. I’m struggling with what colour scheme I want. Feel like I want something different from the norm but anything different from the norm looks weird to me.

  2. spalanz Says:

    Awesome! I decided on something different to all that gold too, went for Lions of Sigmar, which looks similar to your guys, actually. I’ve only actually done five Liberators at the minute, however (you think you’re lazy!) The stark white wings on those Prosecutors look amazing though, I think I might go for that, too. Much less hassle than shading the recesses, as you say… Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

