Ophidian Archway

I have only done a couple of posts on terrain but I thought I would make another exception – last night, I polished off the new Ophidian Archway for Age of Sigmar and quite liked the results.

IMG_1406

Normally with something like this, I would just undercoat it black, do a grey drybrush, pick out a couple of details and call it finished. However, following the trend I started with the starter set models, I avoided that and instead followed the painting guide a the recent White Dwarf.

IMG_1407

Started with a white undercoat this time, and followed it up with a (very) quick coat of white – I didn’t want to do the next stage, a blanket Sepia wash, straight onto the undercoat as the texture would have been all wrong. Once dry (the drying time is what made this piece take a bit longer than usual, but the actual painting time was not all that much greater than my traditional method – a valuable lesson right there), the whole thing got drybrushed Pallid Wych Flesh. Then the floor was painted Skavenblight grey.

IMG_1408

Following the instructions in White Dwarf, the whole thing was then given a light wash in Camoshade to suggest moss and lichen, something I would never have thought to do by myself, but it added a lot of definition to all the carvings on the walls.

The whole lot was then given a very light drybrush of white – again, something I might have skipped before, but it really brought out the highlights.

IMG_1409

Finally, I tackled the man-fighting-dragon brass bits on the front. That was simply a coat of Balthasar Gold (I made the mistake of trying to give it a dark wash – don’t, it wasted time going back over that mistake) finishing up with a heavy dab of the new Oxide paint GW do. First time I have ever used it, it is a bit weird going on, but it undoubtedly works.

And that was it – a lazy evening’s work with most of the time spent waiting for the washes to dry. I don’t think it looks too bad at all!

Leave a Reply

