Herald Can Haz Wheelz?

I picked up a Herald of Khorne a little while ago, and very nice he is too. He has already popped up in a few battles and makes for a good ‘mid-level’ Hero for Khornate forces that have a daemonic twist. But, I thought to myself, suppose he doesn’t want to walk everywhere?

IMG_2406

The answer had to be a Blood Throne!

IMG_2405

When I picked this kit up, I hummed and harred about whether to do it as a Blood Throne or Skull Cannon, as you can make either from the box. IN the end, I shied away from the Skull Cannon, as ranged attacks are not really Khorne’s thing and as they come in units, I might have put myself on a path where I was trying to justify having three of them – and still be after a Blood Throne. So, this was better.

IMG_2409

Two things become quickly apparent with this model. First off, it is bigger than it looks. In a small force, it is going to be a serious centrepiece and in larger armies, it will still be holding its head up alongside the big monsters.

Second, it is really quick to paint.

IMG_2408

The main body is Balthasar Gold, with the same Agrax shade and Necron Compound drybrush that the Skull Keep used. That does about 70% of the model. After that, it is just a matter of painting the Bloodletters (never a long job), the red bits on the chariot (Khorne Red base) and a few of the other metal parts (Leadbelcher) such as the chains, suspension and exhausts.

IMG_2407

Simples!

This chap came about a week late for our big Khorne daemon battle in the campaign, but I am sure he will pop up at some point.

The only thing left on my painting table at the moment is Skarbrand, who is half finished but I am not sure he will be completed before the weekend. I have a very special project lined up for the weekend (taking advantage of group painting day), and I have also been spending time putting together some Chaos Warriors and Beastmen for the next few projects after that…

2 Responses to “Herald Can Haz Wheelz?”

  1. Gregory Romans Says:

    I suggest dry brushing the bloodletters’ backs. I am currently agonising over which to choose but am leaning towards the cannon because it can do both melee and range.


Leave a Reply

