The Light Malevolent

Age of Sigmar has encouraged me to change (and better!) the way I paint, and I have started looking at other ways of improving my models. So, as I was working on new additions to the Chaos Dreadhold, I went back to the Skull Keep I had done earlier and added… lights!

image010

This is the sort of thing that is really simple in practice and, once you have motivated yourself to actually do something about the idea, is very cheap (less than a tenner with postage) and takes all of twenty minutes to set up, if that.

And, as you can see, looks all kinds of awesome!

image011

I did have this mad idea to actually fit threes sets of lights inside; red, green and blue, so I could switch the Skull Keep’s allegiance to Khorne, Nurgle and Tzeentch respectively, but I think you can go too far (though, as I think about it, it would be really cool if you could switch the lights mid-game to actually show who owns it!).

image003

It also looks spectacular in the dark, though that will bring a new set of problems to actually playing in these conditions…

image001

I didn’t want to plonk around with separate LEDs and my soldering iron is currently AWOL, so I just ran to eBay and found a complete lighting set, all wired up – it even comes with the required 9V PP3 battery!

The Skull Keep has two levels, so I put two lighting kits inside it, with the battery boxes for both sitting in its base, lashed to the interior wall with insulation tape. This was a bit lazy, and the tiniest bit of re-wiring could have put both sets of LEDs on the same battery box, but after painting the walls and gate I was not in a mood to mess around and justified it by telling myself the batteries would last twice as long this way!

Anyway, you cannot argue with the results and I will be grabbing more lighting kits for my upcoming Bastion.

Actually, I might be getting the LED-lighting fever, as I am already eyeing up some 40k vehicles and thinking what they really need are some lights!

2 Responses to “The Light Malevolent”

  1. pascualanaya Says:

    Talking about improving your models: a way to significantly improve them would be to change the way you paint your bases… The contrast between the black of the base and the clear color of the bits of grass, and between the base and your gameboard are so strong that the bases stand out more than the models. Good blog by the way! 🙂


Leave a Reply

