The Overlord Bastion

I have been keeping busy of late but between work and a broken computer (the latter being really annoying), I haven’t actually managed to get a great deal finished. On the other hand, I have managed to put together and/or re-base a huge amount of models (Skaven, Seraphon and Beastmen, among many, many others) in preparation for my Christmas break project – so, expect a rash of posts in early January if all goes to plan.

All that said, I have managed to get one model finished this week, and a blinking big one it is too. I present… the Overlord Bastion!

IMG_2828

This is the biggest component available for the Chaos Dreadhold and, it has to be said, I am not eager to paint another! However, I am happy now it is finished, as it is a very fine centrepiece for any table and, when surrounded by walls and towers, will make for an awe-inspiring castle.

IMG_2825

The paint scheme is exactly the same as for the Skull Keep, gate and walls I have already polished off, all derived form the painting guide that was published in White Dwarf.

The most notable factor of the Bastion has to be its size, I think. If anyone is under the illusion that the Skull Keep can be described as big (and it can), then they have not seen the Bastion which fairly towers above it.

IMG_2826

As you can see, I went ahead and put red LED lights in this model, just as I did with the Skull Keep – and I think it looks great! Gives the model just the right amount of menace.

I did not drill this model (as I did with the Skull Keep) to get the wires through the floors. Instead, and this was a little bit lazy I admit, the battery pack for each light is hidden within each individual level. This is a bit clumsy and incredibly fiddly to install through those small doors (frankly, it would have been easier to drill), and I may go back to this model at a later date and simply install all battery packs within the cavernous ground floor.

IMG_2827

However, the lights are certainly a worthwhile addition, as I hope you agree.

The Bastion should be getting its first work out this weekend in a series of planned games set in the Realm of Life – come back next week for the battle reports and more piccies!

One Response to “The Overlord Bastion”

  1. Tony Says:

    Great looking model , very impressive , Tony


Leave a Reply

