Seraphon Heavyweights

As a wise man once said, a Slann cannot live with Skinks alone. At some point, he will need the Saurus Warriors to appear – so, they were next, along with some leaders!

IMG_3237

These guys are in addition to the unit of twenty I did last month as a test piece, and by the end of this weekend I hope to have another unit of twenty done, this time armed with spears – making for a decent block of 70 (!) Saurus Warriors. We are going to be capable of some very, very big games with the Seraphon which, funnily enough, is exactly what I have planned for the coming campaigns!

IMG_3238

Though I went with the traditional light blue for the Saurus Warriors (and Skinks), I could not pass up the opportunity to do purple dinosaurs! I have a Bastiladon and two Stegadons waiting in the wings (was planning to get them done before the holiday is over, but I may run out of Rakarth Flesh before that), but I just had to squeeze in an Oldblood on a Carnosaur – this guy is effectively the general of the Seraphon, so will make for a good leader when the Slann does not want to come out to play.

IMG_3239

The Oldblood himself uses exactly the same scheme as the Saurus Warriors, though he has far more elaborate armour and hornwork.

IMG_3240

The Carnosaur itself turned out rather nicely, if I say so myself – but the paint scheme is dead simple (another one that requires no talent!). All the skin is Rakarth Flesh, while all the scales are Daemonette Hide. Do the spines on the top Stegadon Green, and then blanket the whole lot with Druchii Violet. Then, and this is the trick, do the merest drybrush of Rakarth Flesh over all three – that is 80% of the model done!

After that, there is just the goldwork (Brass Scorpion, Agrax Earthshade, Runefang Steel), claws/teeth, and reins. I actually did this model alongside several others, so it was on my painting desk for four or five days, but if you concentrate on it you will be able to do the bulk of the work in one session.

IMG_3241

If you do Seraphon, you will do a Slann Starmaster. If the Oldblood is the general, this guy is the commander-in-chief.

IMG_3242

You can really cheese out with Starmasters if you start taking two or three – so don’t do that. Take one and load up with Saurus Guards and the Eternity Guard. It will make your Starmaster an absolute sod to kill and you won’t be accused of being That Guy with overwhelming summoning. One really is enough.

To link the army together, I went predominantly purple for the Starmaster, following a similar pattern as the skin for the Carnosaur but with a heavier drybrush to make him a bit lighter overall.

Always thought this guy looks really grumpy, but I suppose he has a lot on his mind…

IMG_3245

I rounded this little batch off (yes, I did all these models together in one group!) with two characters. The first was a Sunblood who technically answers to the Oldbloods but is just brutal in combat!

IMG_3244

This is quite a big model overall, and will make the right impression when leading the Saurus Warriors in an assault.

IMG_3246

The other character was a model I found on eBay. I am not too sure what this was supposed to be, as I think it is a conversion of sorts – the body is metal but at least one arm is plastic. He is going to get used as an Oldblood when I feel a Carnosaur is a bit much.

Between these guys and the Skinks, my Seraphon army is already looking pretty well rounded out. I have three big dinosaurs (Stegadons and a Bastiladon) waiting to be finished as well as a box of Saurus Guard and way too many Saurus Knights (eBay auctions all came in at once!), but I have definitely got over the ‘hump’ on this force, meaning everything that gets added now will seem much easier.

 

2 Responses to “Seraphon Heavyweights”

  1. Oskar Says:

    Hey Mat
    I have been following your awesome blog for a while now and love it. I was wondering how you do with all your eBay finds, do they mostly come painted or not? Do you have to remove a lot of paint and if so whats your best method?
    Keep up the great posts!
    Cheers Oskar

    • altsain Says:

      eBay purchases area mix – sometimes they are new in box, sometimes fully painted and based.

      If they are painted, I simply spray undercoat over them (I try to avoid buying nicely painted models because of this – would seem a shame to ruin someone’s work!). If you avoid models that are obviously caked with paint, you should not have a problem – plus, they come ready assembled, saving you a job!

      Skilled painters may shudder at this, but I have never needed to strip the paint off any model.


Leave a Reply

