Some More Lizards

I am really not going to be adding that much more to my Seraphon, and this week has been a bit of a strain actually getting stuff done. There are a whole bunch of models sitting on a shelf, all undercoated and ready to get some paint on them, but I haven’t felt I could do that until the two Stegadons on the painting table have been completed! Hopefully, they will be done tomorrow, as I have figured out I just need one last push with some more Beastmen and I’ll have everything we need to finish off the Realm of Life campaign (which should keep us going, gaming-wise, for a month or so).

Anyway, first things first, I did manage to polish off a couple of units for the Seraphon.

IMG_3337

The Astrolith Bearer and a Razordon!

IMG_3338

Despite its size, this was a really easy/quick model to paint, following pretty much the same process as all other Saurus (Sauri?).

IMG_3340

So, start with the skin, then do the scales, then red warpaint, leaving just claws and bone.

IMG_3339

Then all the gold, which for this guy, is quite considerable! After that, there are just a few details left, like the feathers and skulls, but they are dealt with quickly.

IMG_3341

And if you want quick, you really cannot beat a Razordon. I used the same purple colour scheme for him as I did the large dinosaurs, to create a link across the entire army, but it is double-quick on this model.

I would be interested in a few more Razordons as they look to be better in defence than Saurus Guards (they get a form of Overwatch which can be just plain nasty if the enemy general is not prepared for it)! However, they tend to go for more than £10 on eBay, so there is no great rush. If I see a cheap one, I’ll grab it.

As I said, I have two Stegadons that I will pull all the stops out to get finished, as they are kinda causing a jam (it is what big dinosaurs do). If all goes well, you will see them early this coming week!

What I really want to crack on with is the ‘last’ of my Beastmen so we can crack through the Realm of Life campaign. I have already put together ten more Gors and Ungors, and my goal for today is to put together ten Bestigors and six Minotaurs, which is about all I want for my Beastmen right now.

I have also done something a bit special for the Realm of Life campaign, but it requires a new Warscroll – I’ll see if I can get that done this coming week too!

Leave a Reply

