The Dreadhold… Complete?

So, this week I finished off (another) Malefic Gate and (another) four wall sections. Why would I put myself through that?

Well, I can now do this…

IMG_4445

That would be a total of 12 wall sections two Malefic Gates, two Skull Keeps and one Overlord Bastion. And I think it is safe to say, I am done with the Chaos Dreadhold – I ain’t painting any more for it!

IMG_4446

On the plus side, this gives me everything I need for some truly awesome castle assaults, and I can pretty much configure the fortress to any shape or pattern needed (yes, I am ignoring the fortifications that use 3 or more Skull Keeps – they are dead to me…).

IMG_4447

Not that the Dreadhold was awesomely bad to paint – I have been doing it in sections over the past few months, gradually building up to this final construction. But let’s just say I have absolutely no desire to paint anything else for it!

IMG_4448

So, now this is done, it is about time we had a big castle assault take place and, it just so happens, I have exactly the right Battleplan for this – Fortresses of Death, where the Dreadhold becomes two castles separated by a Realmgate.

Expect the battle report soon!

4 Responses to “The Dreadhold… Complete?”

  1. Tony Kitchen Says:

    Very spectacular ! , I’d had enough just painting ONE of the Keeps ! , looks magnificent ! , Tony

  2. Akai Says:

    Looks great! If you just use one malefic gate and put in the 2-4 skull keeps as towers for the castle, how many wall sections do you think you need to make a fully encompassed castle?

  3. altsain Says:

    You ‘ll need a minimum of three per side but, other than that, however large a castle you want!


Leave a Reply

