Following the God of Excess

As we thunder through the Balance of Power book, we are getting very close to the point where a Slaaneshi Host lays siege to Nulahmia – which means I need to get a Slaaneshi Host together! Fortunately, I made great strides towards that this weekend…

IMG_4751

Three units of Chaos Warriors, a unit of Chosen and an Exalted Hero make for a good start!

IMG_4752

For these guys, I based my scheme on the Slaanesh Painting Guide released by the Black Library just before Christmas. However, that advocates the lining method for highlights, which I am just never going to do on 50-odd models. I am unlikely to do it on one. So, instead I used the same colours but drybrushed them instead.

IMG_4753

Chaos Warriors are always fairly quick to do, even with the careful work needed for the gold designs on the shields. Everything else… well, pretty standard really.

IMG_4754

And there was good news on the Chosen too.When I did these guys a short while ago for the Rotbringers, I had some issues with snapping axe blades as I worked on them (they are all Finecast, and were quite brittle), but these ones were just fine – no breakages at all. Perhaps they just prefer Slaanesh (and who wouldn’t, eh?).

IMG_4756

Finally, I needed someone to lead them, and I went with an Exalted Hero, keeping the general Slaves to Darkness theme.

Next on thew painting bench will be thirty Daemonettes to really round out the host, with the Masque, a Herald and a Daemon Prince thrown in for good measure. Some Seekers and Chariots will be added after that, and then I think we will be good for Slaanesh!

Leave a Reply

