Forces of the Everchosen

I have been meaning to get round to doing some ‘normal’ guys (that is, unaligned Slaves to Darkness) to follow Archaon and his mates around for some time now. This week, I finally got round to it, prompted in no small part by needing them for the finale to Balance of Power.

IMG_5009

I had wanted to do three units of Chaos Warriors, but eBay wasn’t very friendly at the time (I have since picked up a unit of Chaos Warriors and another five Knights, which I’ll get round to polishing off in the next few weeks or so).

IMG_5010

I ended using exactly the same scheme for these guys as the Varanguard I did a while back, linking them all together as one force – and I think that was a good move, as the ‘extra shiny gold’ makes a big difference on black models. This is especially apparent with…

IMG_5011

… the Knights. They really do look like mini-Varanguard! Also, note the use of the Everchosen’s sigil on the banners of both the Knights and the Warriors – this came from the the transfer sheet you get with their Battletome.

IMG_5012

I did a couple of characters to lead them. The big boss (when Archaon – or his Varanguard, I suppose – are not around) is the ‘standard’ Chaos Lord model. Nice enough, gets the job done. However…

IMG_5013

… I much prefer the Exalted Hero model. There is just something about his pose and the effect of the golden helmet (which my photography really does not do justice to) that really makes this model pop for me.

2 Responses to “Forces of the Everchosen”

  1. Jeffrey Says:

    How did you paint your chaos lord’s head? I can never get it to look the way I want it to.

    • altsain Says:

      Well, I didn’t try too hard 🙂

      Just went with a Rakarth Flesh base, washed with Reikland Fleshshade. Then it was just a case of a light drybrushing of Pallid Wych Flesh on top to pick out the details.

      That is really all there was too it!


Leave a Reply

