Heavy Metal for the Mantis Warriors

I managed to get all the infantry for my initial Mantis Warriors force sorted out a while ago. However, I was informed that the Badab War would be kicking off in less than a week (tomorrow!), so I had to get all their vehicles done sharp!

Fortunately, I had already been working on them, and much of the base colours were done – I just had to polish off some details, along with the unit/squadron markings.

img_6195

First up, I had to give my infantry something to bomb around the battlefield in – and for that, you cannot beat a Rhino (or two)!

img_6197

The painting of all the vehicles more or less followed the scheme with the infantry, the only exception being that the Castellan Green did not get a Nuln Oil wash – I drybrushed straight on top of it (washing large flat panels can be a trying experience and always leaves  tide marks).

Transport is all well and good, but we want something to give the enemy a good smacking. The Mantis Warriors are known for their fast assaults and lightning strikes, so I thought a couple of Land Speeders would serve them well.

img_6196

These two are Melta-weapon heavy which, given that I know both the Salamanders and Marines Errant forces I will be facing are big on infantry, may seem a bit over the top. However, I also know the Salamanders and Marines Errant players well, and there is just no way they will be able to resist putting lots of vehicles in later. So, best prepared!

Now, Land Speeders are all well and good but, when it comes to fast strikes they tend to lack… ambition. Enter this chap:

img_6199

The Stormraven or, as I like to call it, the flying Land Raider. This is another vehicle that has gone heavy on the anti-vehicle weaponry but, frankly, the Stormraven does not care much who it is targeting.

Finally, I rounded all of this off with the real heavy-hitters of the force – a full squadron of three Vindicators.

img_6198

Both the Salamanders and Marines Errant are going to have to find a way to deal with these bad boys, as having the full squadron running rampage over the battlefield is going to be just plain rude. Their range is limited, for certain, but if all three tanks target the same spot with their massive guns, they are going to be capable of taking out two or three tightly packed units in one titanic blast.

Personally, I am looking forward to that!

Leave a Reply

