Two Mighty Beasts

I had a very productive weekend and, among other things, managed to get through these two beauties.

img_6653

The really imposing one is, of course, the Rogue Idol of Gork (or is it Mork?). Managed to snag this one at a very low price and, despite not having done any Orruks yet (started putting together the Ironjawz this weekend too!), I just had an itch to paint it up.

img_6654

This was for two reasons. First off, there is just something very ‘powerful’about this model, like it is fully capable of ripping the wings off a Bloodthirster with ease. Second, I thought it would be dead easy and quick to do (I was right, as it happens).

img_6655

95% of the model is simply Mechanicus Grey with a Nuln Oil wash, drybrushed with Dawnstone, Administratum Grey and a final (very light) drybrush of white. Then it is just the details – the metal icons stamped into it, the fungi, shields, and moss.

img_6656

I also stole an idea from someone else’s idol I found while Googling this beast, and put clumps of Mordheim Turf in its various cracks and crevices. I think it quite adds something to the model.

Now I just need to paint up some Orruks to power it up with Waaagh energy!

img_6657

The Great Chaos Spined Beast is another easy model, based with Death World Green and washed with Athonian Camoshade. Then it was just a case of drybrushing with Elysian Green and Ogryn Camo. Again, 90% of the model done just doing that!

img_6658

The red fleshy bits came next (Khorne Red, Agrax and Mephiston), and I topped them all off with a light coating of Blood for the Blood God so they glisten and are all icky. Claws, horns and teeth all followed (Zandri, Agrax, Ushabti) and that was it done!

img_6660

This beastie does have a fairly immediate purpose – in the Realmgate Wars, I wanted to feature Arachaon’s Menagerie in the Ironwarp Citadel (a Battalion Warscroll from the book of the same name) which requires five monsters. I had four, so this chap went in nicely (it was either going to be him or a Basilisk).

I don’t have a Warscroll for this guy yet, so may have to end up doing one of my own. I dropped a line to Forge World to see if his omission from the monstrous Arcanum PDF was a mistake (it happens) but if that turns up a blank, I’ll have a Warscroll posted in a few days!

Leave a Reply

