Going Up The Garden Path

Here is an interesting little something I acquired of late – an old D&D module, ST1: Up the Garden Path.

img_7537

This module has a bit of a history. It was sold at just two events in 1986, the National Garden Festival, and Games Day (the original Games Day, when it was an RPG-based convention held at the Royal Horticultural Society Hall in London.

Now, I actually attended that Games Day and yes, I picked up a copy of Up the Garden Path. However, I sold it in my teenage years (for about £15!), so was quite excited to be able to grab another.

img_7538

What makes this module interesting, not to mention highly collectible is not only was it only sold at those two events, but it had a very small print run, maybe less than 600 copies. One of the authors (Graeme Morris) believed that only 100-200 copies were sold at the events combined.

How many exist today? Well, nobody knows. There have been suggestions that maybe only 50-odd are still about, and I have heard (probably false) claims that there are only 14.

If the lower limit is true, however, I am always on the look out for the other ten!

img_7542

So, is it any good?

Well, it probably isn’t going to be the essential part of any campaign. It uses an actual map of the National Garden Festival, and the basic plot is that the players are transported to this pocket universe that threatens the existence of all other universes. To close it, they have to explore and locate a bunch of things that are contradictory (things like water birds, wooden magnets and a square wheel, and bring them to a partial Quirk.

img_7539

Overall, I would class it as fun but silly. Or silly but fun.

img_7540

ST1 consists of a wraparound cover with a full colour interior (the map of the festival), and the 16 page adventure. Three new monsters are added; IffanbutT (a Probability Elemental), Shadow Wolf, and Snap Dragon.

img_7541

Is it worth anything?

Probably.

It has been a long time since I saw one of these pop up eBay (not that I look very often, admittedly), but maybe to the right person it would be worth a couple of thousand Dollars – I have seen asking prices of £5,000 from collectors, but I am pretty sure they would not get them.

Anyway, I would consider these as part of my retirement plan!

 

2 Responses to “Going Up The Garden Path”

  1. Owenstaton Says:

    I I have a badge from that Games day somewhere . Fond memories

    >

  2. Marc Says:

    yes, those are the games days I attended too …. sigh …
    we did a demo game at one of them (lan livingstone was not impressed)!


Leave a Reply

