Hammer and Anvil: Mantis Warrior Style

The advent of the new 40k has turned my thoughts to new armies but, before I start anything new, I wanted to finish off two units that have been sitting on my painting table for way too long – reinforcements for the Mantis Warriors and the Badab War campaign.

IMG_8725

Had some motivation issues getting these finished but, once I put my nose to the grindstone, they really were very quick and easy (they are Space Marines, after all).

While I already have a slightly over-sized Terminator squad, we have some boarding actions coming up in the campaign, and I figured some close combat hard-hitters would be ideal (and, looking at the rules for the new edition, i am glad I went with Thunder Hammers rather than lightning Claws!).

IMG_8727

However, the Mantis Warriors are somewhat known for their fast strikes and sudden assaults (being successors to the White Scars, after all), and so I also added some Attack Bikes – a unit of three with Multi-Meltas should provide most armoured vehicles with a little trepidation, at least.

IMG_8726

So, what is next for 40k?

Well, I have a little dilemma there…

Ignoring the fact that I really should keep cracking on with my Sigmar armies (the Kharadron Overlords are still in their boxes, though the Freeguild did get some work done on them this weekend), I really could do with adding the Tyrant’s Legion to the Badab War, and I have a hankering to do a brand new army for the new edition – I am thinking Craftworld Eldar (always good for a laugh), starting with a Spirithost.

Then there are the Horus Heresy models I put together this weekend, which got me thinking about doing both Space Wolves and Thousand Sons for a full-blown Prospero campaign…

Leave a Reply

