Friends of the Death Guard

It looks like I had quite a productive weekend! I completed two ‘batches’ of models, and it would have been three had I not boxed my Flesh Tearers Terminators for ‘later’ and started on a brand new Horus Heresy army. However, focussing on what was actually done, the Death Guard now have some allies:

IMG_9026

Some Daemons of Nurgle to march alongside the Death Guard!

IMG_9028

Daemons of Nurgle, and Plaguebearers in particular, are quite simply the easiest models to paint. Start with a Corax White undercoat (important, don’t use plain white), then pick out the weapons in Leadbelcher, horns in Zandri Dust, eyes in Averland Sunset, and the hanging guts in Bugman’s Glow, then drench (and I mean drench) the whole thing in Athonian Camoshade.

Touch up the guts with a dash of Bugman’s, add some Nurgle’s Rot in the gooey bits, and you are done! Drying time takes longer than the actual painting.

For the bases, I did the same as for the Death Guard – Stirland Mud, drybrushed with Screaming Skull, and a nice thick dollop of Nurgle’s Rot in the puddles (you may need to do those twice), with some Mordheim Turf round the edges of the pools. Steel Legion Drab round the rim of the base.

You could do a veritable legion of these guys in one weekend.

For ‘serious’ play, I should perhaps add another ten Plaguebearers to this unit (not a massive chore) as I have already seen that they are -1 to be hit in large groups, and putting a Herald with them to cast Miasma means they will be -2 to be hit – most people won’t even bother (though Flamers will be their bane).

Speaking of Heralds…

IMG_9030

I just had to have one of those leading this little force. And, to round it out…

IMG_9029

Nurglings are always fun – painted in the same fashion as the Plaguebearers and, if anything, are even quicker to do.

I also added one more unit to the Death Guard proper:

IMG_9034

Typhus himself. As a single model, yet another that is extremely quick to get through. I have a feeling he may be replaced in the very near future with a grander plastic model, in which case this one will become a second Lord of Contagion. But he looks quite funky for now.

 

5 Responses to “Friends of the Death Guard”

  1. Marc Says:

    what’s happened to your Kharadron Overlords and AOS (not to mention Skirmish)?

    • altsain Says:

      Working on it all πŸ™‚ Skirmish just needs us to free up a weekend (the Badab War has been a thing since the new 40k came out), and the Kharadron Overlords are all in their boxes, sitting right next to my painting desk, judging me every time I sit down.

      I think I’ll finish off my Freeguild guys first (piccies of the first lot coming tomorrow!), as that gives us all the models we need for a big two-table game I have been planning, then the Kharadron Overlords will be up. Or maybe some Horus Heresy Thousand Sons. Whatever takes my fancy, really πŸ™‚

  2. Marc Says:

    you don’t do things by halves that’s for sure! amazing output all ’round, and good to hear you’ll be continuing with AOS.

    I recently managed a couple of games of skirmish, and the lightweight rules framework, together with house rules for scenery and scenario specific to a set-up, gave me everything I want from a game.

  3. Marc Says:

    we were round about the 40 – 50 mk (seraphon vs. KO … yes, that’s right, but our approach is very much to make the fluff serve our needs, not otherwise, and the KO are easy to shoe-horn into a mercenary type vibe).
    We used the ‘unofficial’ lists from the TGA, which allowed me to use a skink starpriest (unless I’m getting confused, and he’s in the official lists too …).
    But the main point for us is that we’re definitely not ‘chess-club’ (hello hordes machine) type players, and really feel that GW have nailed it in producing such ‘simple’ rules (at the base level), which make it so easy to introduce specific scenario rules, particularly from the point of view of making scenery part of (in fact ‘creating’) the narrative.

    I hear mutterings that the GH2 may be further facilatating the move towards more complicated rules geared towards a certain kind of matched competetive play. I hope this isn’t done at the expense of free-wheeling imagination … and fun!


Leave a Reply

