I seem to be doing quite well lately in tackling models that have been lying around in boxes for a good few years. This weekend, I added another one to that tally – a Knight-Magaera of House Malinax, a model destined for the Heresy-era Prospero campaign.

As I have said several times before, Knights are dead easy and dead quick to paint – spray the whole thing with Leadbelcher, wash and drybrush the metalwork, and then you are basically just left with the armour plates and details to do. For this Knight-Magaera I used the same paint scheme I worked out for previous House Malinax Knights without appreciable variation.

The only addition to the colour scheme was the coils of the plasma-fusil. I was a bit dubious about having blue on this model before, and the base colour of Calgar Blue really clashed. However, after the Drakenhof wash, and Lothern Blue/Fenrisian Grey highlights, everything settled down nicely.

If there was any pain in working on this model, it would be, predictably, the armour edging – and there is a fair bit more than on your standard Questoris Knight. The shoulder guards are segmented, as is the main carapace. I figured this would be done over a period of time, doing a couple of bits whenever I could muster the enthusiasm but, in the end, they were all completed quicker than I had predicted in a single session.

A lesson to be learnt there in that just sitting down and actually doing something will result in a quicker finish…

Once everything had been tackled on the painting front it was time for the transfers. Armed with the Forge World House Malinax sheet, there were plenty of options and I did not skimp on this stage. All done, the Knight-Magaera looks ready to take to the battlefield and give those feckless Thousand Sons a good pounding for their heresy!

Suitably motivated by the completion of this model, I immediately grabbed another already-built-and-undercoated superheavy unit but after the first coat and wash there was a bit of waiting time… so I grabbed yet another superheavy and started on that.

Neither seems as though they will take a massively long time to paint, so you should be seeing another two big models done and dusted in the next few days!