The painting over the weekend left a few bits and bobs to do on these two units, but I cleared them up last night, giving the Bloodbound more elite forces above and beyond the usual Blood Warriors!

IMG_2328

I had been planning to do ten each of the Skullreapers and Wrathmongers but, after having built one set, I decided not to as this kit lacks the variation of, say, the Blightkings and would appear a bit samey.

IMG_2329

I painted the Skullreapers in the same colours as the Blood Warriors and Bloodreavers. I figured that someone would join the Bloodbound as a reaver and, if they were a really good boy, would get to be a Blood Warrior some day. If they proved themselves after that, they could get themselves invited into the Skullreapers, so there is kind of a line running through the army there.

IMG_2337

I quite liked how the standard bearer turned out, with the metal effect on the big icon and his little dog-face.

IMG_2335

The Skullreapers have a choice of weapons and I went for the (very dangerous!) daemon-bound blades. To get this idea across further I painted the actual blades black with a fair bit of highlighting, rather than just doing them the normal metal.

IMG_2338

This is the leader model. I actually made a mistake on the base colour of the skin on these guys, using Pallid Wych Flesh when my Bloodreavers and Blood Warriors actually used Rakarth Flesh. However, a Nuln Oil wash on top of the skin dulled it down nicely so now it looks the same as the rest of the Bloodbound.

IMG_2333

The Wrathmongers are completely different  in terms of painting, partially because I wanted to get across the part-daemonic nature of these guys, and partly because I did not want them looking the same as the Skullreapers – the models are different enough but they use the same base bodies so any other difference can only be a good thing.

IMG_2332

There are a few options to add mutations to these guys and, being part-daemon, I added them all, such as the three arms on this guy and a scorpion tail on another.

IMG_2331

I went with the same colour scheme as I used on Skarr earlier, as I figure if these guys hang out with anyone, it is going to be him. So, red skin (very similar as to how I do Bloodletters, giving another link to part of the Khorne force) with black and gold armour. All Khornate colours but nicely removed from the rest of the Bloodbound.

IMG_2334

I also managed to put together Skarbrand and, along with some Mighty Skullcrushers that I plan to pick up soon, my work with Khorne is coming to a close for the immediate future. Onto Nurgle and Tzeentch!